Go to the U of M home page

Planning Workgroup and Issue Teams

The strategic planning process for the Twin Cities campus is led by a Strategic Planning Workgroup chaired by Provost Karen Hanson. It includes 30 faculty members, students, and staff selected from over 500 nominations by the Twin Cities campus community.

In the first phase of its work, the workgroup will develop a planning framework including foundational principles, a strategic vision, and goals. In the second phase, workgroup members will lead issue teams—extended teams of faculty, staff, and students charged with mapping issues and action steps for each goal.

Members of Strategic Planning Workgroup

Karen Hanson, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Strategic Planning Chair*
Neil Anderson, Director, University of Minnesota Extension
Barb Bezat, Assistant Archivist, Northwest Architectural Archives, University Libraries
Renee Cheng, Associate Dean, College of Design; Professor, School of Architecture
Will Durfee, Morse Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor, College of Science and Engineering*
Carl Flink, Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts
Ann Hagen, Assistant Program Director, School of Dentistry
Reuben Harris, Professor, College of Biological Sciences
Mick Hedberg, Undergraduate Student, College of Liberal Arts
Brian Herman, Vice President, Research*
Brooks Jackson, Vice President, Health Sciences, and Dean of the Medical School*
Mary Jo Kane, Professor, College of Education and Human Development; Director, Tucker Center for Research on Girls & Women in Sport
Timothy Kehoe, Professor, College of Liberal Arts
Joe Konstan, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, College of Science and Engineering
Al Levine, Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs; Professor, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences*
Elizabeth Lightfoot, Professor, College of Education and Human Development
Becky Malkerson, Executive Vice President, Development, University of Minnesota Foundation
Meghan Mason, Graduate Student, School of Public Health
Bill O'Neill, Associate Director, Facilities Management
Richard Pfutzenreuter, Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer*
Abel Ponce de Leon, Professor, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
Carissa Schively Slotterback, Associate Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Catherine Squires, Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts
G. David Tilman, Regents Professor and McKnight Presidential Chair, College of Biological Sciences
Jakub Tolar, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Medical School
Christopher Uggen, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, College of Liberal Arts; Vice Chair, Faculty Consultative Committee
Kamil Ugurbil, Professor, Medical School
Pamela Wheelock, Vice President for University Services*
Amelious Whyte, Senior Associate Vice Provost, Office of Student Affairs
Aks Zaheer, Professor, Carlson School of Management

 *denotes executive committee member 

Members of Strategic Planning Workgroup Issue Teams >